Travel Ban Now Affects Six Additional Countries

In 2017, President Trump placed an initial travel ban on seven countries. See our prior coverage of the travel ban.

On January 31 of this year, he released another Proclamation, expanding the travel ban to six additional countries: Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania. This expansion will go into effect on February 21, 2020.

The total number of countries now on the restricted travel list stands at 13. This ban places visa and entry restrictions on travelers from all of these countries. For more specific information about the individual countries and impact, go here.