Marks Gray Shareholder Jeptha F. Barbour named to the Board of the International Association of Defense Counsel

Marks Gray, P.A. shareholder, Jeptha (“Jep”) F. Barbour was named to the Board of the International Association of Defense Counsel (IADC) at its annual meeting in Vienna, Austria. The IADC is the preeminent invitation-only global legal organization for attorneys who represent corporate and insurance interests. Founded in 1920, the IADC’s members hail from five continents, 40 countries and all 50 states. The core purposes of the IADC are to enhance the development of skills, promote professionalism and facilitate camaraderie among its members, their clients, as well as the broader civil justice community. Mr. Barbour has been an active member of IADC since 1992, serving as Chair of the Medical Defense Committee, the faculty of the 1997 IADC Trial Academy and IADC Trial Academy Director in 2011.

Mr. Barbour received a B.B.A. in 1979 from Stetson University and J.D. degree from Stetson College of Law in 1982. He is Board Certified in Civil Trial Law by The Florida Bar and practices primarily in the area of civil litigation including: products liability, professional liability, commercial litigation and disability litigation.

Mr. Barbour is a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers. He is a member of the Defense Research Institute, the American Board of Trial Advocates (President – Jacksonville Chapter, 2005), the Florida Defense Lawyers Association, the Jacksonville Defense Lawyers Association and is an Emeritus member of the Chester Bedell Inn of Court. He served as president of the Jacksonville Bar Association (1996-1997) and was a member of the Executive Council of the Trial Lawyers Section of The Florida Bar (2002 – 2008).

Mr. Barbour has been listed in Florida Super Lawyers® consecutively since 2007 (as a ‘Top 100 Lawyer in Florida’ in 2009 and 2013) and listed in Florida Trend magazine’s Legal Elite consecutively since 2008 in the area of Civil Trial.  Mr. Barbour was named in 2010 and 2013 edition of The Best Lawyers in America® in the specialties of Medical Malpractice Law, Personal Injury Litigation and Product Liability Litigation and named ‘Lawyer of the Year’ in 2012 and 2014 by Best Lawyers.