ePassports Required for Travelers Using the Visa Waiver Program

The Visa Waiver Program (VWP) is used by citizens from 38 countries to travel without a visa to the U.S.

However, starting in April, the DHS will require these travelers to obtain a visa to travel to the U.S. If they don’t have an ePassport.

An e-Passport contains an electronic security chip, which holds the passenger’s biographical information including name, date of birth and other background information.

For additional information, go here.